Brainstorming

I have been thinking this week about what I want to do for my Financial Analysis project.  There are a number of things that came to mind – buying a horse, purchasing an investment rental property, buying and installing a solar water heater for our house.  In the end, I think I have decided on purchasing a used diesel powered small car that we can convert and run with biodiesel.  My husband and I have been talking for a while about getting a smaller car now that our children are older and we are usually just running one or two  of them around at a time.  We have also been wanting to reduce our family’s dependence on fossil fuels in general and my husband, a chemical engineer, really wants to make his own biodiesel.  Last weekend I drove to Portland  (by myself) to pick up my sister at the airport in our minivan.  I was thinking on the way up there that it was such a waste to take a big car that seats 7 passengers when I only had 2.  This project will require me to analyze the vehicles we currently have, both personally and for our catering business.  I am excited to be using this for my class project because my husband and I want to get this car sometime soon, so I want to find a way to make it financially possible.

Leave a Reply

